Asset Publisher

Back CORONAVIRUS/COVID-19 Travel Restrictions Update

The Quick/Sterling team has contingency plans in place, and is in close contact with the airlines as they determine the full impact of this travel ban. Please contact your local Customer Service Center for information on your shipments.
  • The US ban announced last evening by President Trump, only applies to the 26 countries in the Schengen Area free movement zone: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. The restrictions apply to travel by individuals and not to cargo. Airlines will reduce or eliminate flights from these countries to and from the US. Freighters are still operating and charter options exist.
  • The island nations of UK and Ireland are not included in the ban, despite there being COVID-19 cases in both countries.
  • Guidance issued from the Department of Homeland Security clarified the ban did not apply to American citizens or their family members.
  • The US already has other restrictions in place.
  • Passengers who've been in China and Iran in the last 14 days will not be allowed to enter, except for US citizens.
  • US citizens who've been in China in the past 14 days can enter the US, but will be directed via one of 11 airports where they'll undergo health screening. The airports include Atlanta, Chicago, Dallas, Detroit, Honolulu, Los Angeles, New York (JFK or EWR), San Francisco, Seattle and Washington.

Airlines are canceling international capacity as a result of reduced travel demand: Update - 11 March

  • LH and AA have reported that 20 to 25% of their fleet is being grounded.
  • UA is reporting a 20% reduction in international capacity and a 10% reduction in US domestic capacity.
  • DL is reporting a 1% reduction in overall capacity with a significant shift to domestic flying.
  • Other carriers are following suit.
  • DL is reporting a 10 to 15% reduction in domestic capacity and 20 to 25% reduction in international capacity.
  • Air Canada is suspending flights to and from Italy.
  • On Tuesday, Portugal's government has suspended all passenger flights to and from Italy for 14 days.
  • Air France to halt all Italy flights from March 14 to April 3.
  • Delta suspends service from JFK to Rome and Tel Avi
  • Flights still operating to Rome (FCO). Quick can provide service for shipments using Rome as a launching point to Italy. Special permission is required for medical deliveries to the Lombardy province.

Travel restrictions have been imposed by many governments to: Update - 10 March

  • South Korea to Japan, Italy, Mainland China, Iran
  • Italy to lock down Milan region in bid to contain the coronavirus outbreak. The measures, set to come into force Sunday and last until April 3, will stop anyone from entering or exiting the most-affected areas. The restrictions will apply across Lombardy and in 11 provinces around cities, including Venice, Modena, Parma, Rimini and Treviso. (effective 3/8)
  • All entrants to Israel (including Israeli Citizens) will be subject to a two-week quarantine upon entering Israel from any country.
  • The Italian government has extended restrictions on personal movement and public events to the entire country. People will be allowed to travel only for work or for emergencies.

Additional restrictions were recently announced: Update - 10 March

  • Korea to Japan (effective 3/5)
  • Singapore to Korea
  • From Israel to: Spain, Germany, France, Switzerland, Austria, Italy, Mainland China, Hong Kong, Thailand, Singapore, Macau, South Korea and Japan (effective 3/6)
  • Italy: Quarantine expended to the entire country. Many airlines have canceled flights to Italy including AZ, BA and FR flights.

Flights schedules have been significantly reduced to or from the following cities/airports:

Code City Country
HKG    Hong Kong    China    
NKG    Nanjing    China    
PEK    Beijing    China    
PVG    Shanghai    China    
SHE    Shenyang    China    
TAO    Qingdao    China    
WUH    Wuhan    China    
IKA    Tehran    Iran    
BLQ    Bologna    Italy    
GOA    Genoa    Italy    
MXP    Milan    Italy    
TRN    Turin    Italy    
TRS    Trieste    Italy    
VCE    Venice    Italy    
VRN    Verona    Italy    
SIN    Singapore    Singapore    

ICN    Seoul    South Korea

TEL    Tel Aviv    Israel    

Ground transportation has been restricted in the following regions due to the virus outbreak: Update 11 March

  • Hubei Province, Wuhan, China (WUH)
  • Provinces surrounding Milan (MXP) in northern Italy
  • Travel is restricted in the city of Daegu, South Korea
  • As noted above, the Italian government extended restrictions on personal movement and public events to the entire country. People will be allowed to travel only for work or for emergencies.
  • In Hubei province, including Wuhan city, deliveries can be made to select addresses. However, deliveries direct to patient homes are still blocked, and are required to be made at the edge of the restriction zones.